Comité Paritaire des Agents de Sécurité

Comité Paritaire des Agents de Sécurité Plan du site CPAS English version

Qui sommes-nous ?

Mandat et mission

At your service to protect your interests!

Since 1934, the provincial Act respecting collective agreement decrees has allowed the parties entering into a collective agreement to request that the government extend to all employers and employees of a given sector certain provisions contained in the agreement.

Not all of the provisions constituting the collective agreement are included in the decree, but mainly those concerning monetary matters are (ie.: wages, holidays and leaves, overtime, etc.). In asking for a decree, the contracting parties aim to prevent disloyal competition from other employers who might not be governed by a collective agreement, by ensuring that the wages and the working conditions of the employees are not a factor of competition between the employers..

In the security guard agencies field, a decree first came into effect on August 13th 1980 for Quebec City and its regions, and then a second decree came into effect on April 15th 1981 for Montreal and its regions. In February 1984, the two decrees were combined into just one.

The Act respecting collective agreement decrees also stipulates that the contracting parties set up a parity committee to supervise the implementation of the decree. All employers, as well as all employees, whether unionized or not are subject to the decree and they must contribute to the financing of the parity committee's operations.

The Parity committee for security guards is managed by a Board of Directors composed in equal number of employers' and employees’ representatives. The board of directors then appoints a general manager who, together with staff of inspectors and office personnel, maintains the committee in operation and ensures application of the decree.

Comité Paritaire des Agents de Sécurité

Comité Paritaire des Agents de Sécurité Plan du site CPAS English version

Qui sommes-nous ?

Mandat et mission

Le Comité paritaire : à votre service pour protéger vos intérêts !

Depuis 1934, la Loi québécoise sur les décrets de convention collective permet aux parties signataires d’une convention collective de demander au gouvernement d’étendre à tous les employeurs et à tous les salariés du secteur où elles oeuvrent, certaines dispositions de la convention.

Ce ne sont pas toutes les dispositions de la convention collective qui constituent le décret, mais principalement celles à caractère pécuniaire : salaires, congés, heures supplémentaires, etc. En demandant un décret, les parties contractantes visent à prévenir une concurrence déloyale de la part d’employeurs qui ne seraient pas assujettis à une convention collective en faisant en sorte que les salaires et les conditions de travail des salarié(e)s ne soient pas un facteur de compétition.

Dans le secteur des agences de sécurité, un premier décret vit le jour le 13 août 1980 pour la région de Québec, et le 15 avril 1981 pour la région de Montréal. En février 1984, les deux décrets furent fusionnés, pour n’en former qu’un seul.

La Loi sur les décrets de convention collective prévoit aussi que les parties contractantes doivent mettre sur pied un comité paritaire chargé de surveiller l’application du décret. Tous les employeurs et tous les salariés, syndiqués ou non, sont assujettis au décret et doivent contribuer au financement des activités du comité paritaire.

Le Comité paritaire des agents de sécurité est dirigé par un nombre égal de représentants d’employeurs et de salariés. Le conseil d’administration désigne à son tour un directeur général, auquel s’adjoignent des inspecteurs et du personnel de bureau pour assurer la permanence du comité et voir à l’application du décret.